Development Week 10 & 11

I’ve taken some time to think about where the game is headed, what mechanics I’m introducing and whether the colours I’m using work well.

At the start, the cannon fires an X every 4 seconds and then slowly decreases to 1 second which makes it more difficult. After reaching the limit it goes back to four seconds and begins again. I like it because obviously its a way of increasing difficulty but also because when you understand the cycle it can create a very powerful anticipation and tension when the pace speeds up especially when the player has been going for a while. As well as this when the player overcomes it there can be a huge sigh of relief and the player can be massively rewarded. I’ve had mixed views on the mechanic, some like it, some don’t believe its suitable and some don’t even realise its happening.

There are a couple of issues, one is that when players get good, they don’t worry about the gap between the auto shot because they’ve already fired. Another is some players are not very good and find it slightly too difficult, its not that they lose quickly, its that sometimes it fires when they weren’t ready and it makes them frown. I could completely remove it and only allow the player to shoot when they want to, like candy crush, but I feel like that is less exciting and that I haven’t tested and iterated it out enough to really know how it could enhance the game. The lose condition would still be the same, but again it would be less exciting and the player would blame the game because it would get to a point where the player would be doing the best moves but be unfortunate to not to get the colour they wanted so it would be a slow death. Unless, I made levels, which I have been considering. In that universe the player is trying to pass the score to get to the next level and then are introduced to new and exciting things and ways to overcome new obstacles, like cracking a box by swiping a shape in it, again a lot like candy crush. What’s stopping me is time, I simply don’t have much left. What I need to focus on is making this game exciting to play by enhancing the current experience by keeping it challenging as well as very rewarding. With this mechanic, I’m going to play test it for a couple more weeks and the first iteration I’m applying is shortening the time it takes to get to the one second mark. Currently it takes two minutes and when people play they sometimes don’t realise its happening. Changing the time between 40 seconds and 1 minute will improve things.

While taking time to think about the game I’ve managed to go through the code and remove unwanted parts. I’ve converted a lot of the GUI components into the new UI that Unity has introduced which has been quite a lot of trial and error and trying to understand how it works. I’ve made the next shape animation and created a sparkle effect when it changes.

Another issue I’ve been having is in regards to the colours. They are bland and are not very exciting. This causes a problem because they are a part of The Mix branding which I need to push forward. Instead I have decided on an idea to have more colourful colours for the X and design some GUI stuff with the Mix’s branding colours which i think would work well. Here are some tests I carried out.

Capture Capture2 Capture3 Capture4

Capture5

Capture6

Capture7

The last one I started to develop from previous colours. They were bright enough and seem to work well. In all honesty I am a bit unsure what colours to pick. I’m going to be setting up meetings with my lectures to get some more opinions.

I have a meeting next week with The Mix. I haven’t been able to see them in around 2 weeks as everyone has been really busy so this is going to be really important. What I want to discuss and finalise on are colours, the new cannon design, the mix page, UI and sounds.

I’ve updated my timeline as some things felt out of scope and I want to focus myself on things I think are really important to do now and to encourage me to have full commitment for February.

Leave a Reply

